Text Size
Green Lane, Dronfield, Derbyshire S18 2FZ | Tel: 01246 412372 | Fax: 01246 412885 | email: admin@dronfield.derbyshire.sch.uk
Parents Essential Information School Times / Term Dates


This page contains the following information;



School TimesSchool Times

Below is a breakdown of our school day; start and end times, registration, lesson periods, lunch time and breaks.

"I have noticed that the people who are late are often so much jollier than the people who have to wait for them " - E. V. Lucas

8:50am Warning Bell Duty teams active
Students and Staff go to registration
9am - 9:15am Mentor Time Students arriving late report to reception
9:15am - 10:15am Period 1  
10:15am - 10:30am Break Duty teams active
10:30am - 11:30am Period 2  
11:30am - 12:30pm Period 3  
12:30pm - 1:30pm Lunch Lunchtime Supervisors active
1:30pm - 2:30pm Period 4 (includes afternoon registration)
2:30pm - 3:30pm Period 5  
3:30pm - 3:40pm   Duty teams active


Assemblies will take place from 9:00am to 9:15am.

On assembly days, Houses/year groups should go straight to the Hall to be ready to start assembly at 9:00am, rather than going to mentor rooms.

(Back to top of page)


Leave of Absence for Students

There is no automatic right for students to be granted authorised absences. We consider every request for leave of absence in relation to the context of the request, the individual student's attendance and educational attainment.

Only the school can approve absence, not parents. Parents and carers need to be aware that absences from school can have a detrimental effect on student's progress and achievement in examinations.

To apply for a student leave of absence, please complete the "Leave of Absence Form for Students" that can be downloaded from the policies page, and return to reception at least two weeks before the date of the proposed absence.

(Back to top of page)


Term Dates - 2014/2015 Academic Year

Autumn

  • Term 1: Monday 8th September 2014 to Friday 24th October 2014 
  • Term 2: Monday 3rd November 2014 to Friday 19th December 2014


Spring 
 

  • Term 3: Monday 5th January 2015 to Friday 6th February 2015
  • Term 4: Monday 16th February 2015 to Friday 27th March 2015


Summer

  • Term 5: Monday 13th April 2015 to Friday 22nd May 2015
  • Term 6: Monday 1st June 2015 to Friday 24th July 2015


Public Holidays

  • 25th and 26th December 2014
  • 1st January 2015
  • 3rd April 2015
  • 6th April 2015
  • 4th May 2015
  • 25th May 2015
  • 31st August 2015


CPD Days

  • Friday 5th September 2014
  • Thursday 9th October 2014
  • Friday 12th December 2014
  • Wednesday 4th February 2015
  • Monday 13th July 2015

(Back to top of page)


Term Dates - 2015/2016 Academic YearTerm Times

The following dates for 2015/16 are provisional and will be confirmed during the academic year 2014/15.

Autumn

  • Term 1: Monday 7th September 2015 to Friday 23rd October 2015
  • Term 2: Monday 2nd November 2015 to Friday 18th December 2015


Spring

  • Term 3: Monday 4th January 2016 to Friday 12th February 2016
  • Term 4: Monday 22nd February 2016 to Thursday 24th April 2016


Summer

  • Term 5: Monday 11th April 2016 to Friday 27th May 2016
  • Term 6: Monday 6th June 2016 to Tuesday 26th July 2016


Public Holidays

  • 25th and 26th December 2015
  • 1st January 2016
  • 25th March 2016
  • 28th March 2016
  • 2nd May 2016
  • 30th May 2016
  • 29th August 2016

(Back to top of page)



Last Updated on Tuesday, 19 August 2014 07:13 Written by C. Burgin

Help: Don't understand school abbreviations? See Glossary and Abbreviations.