Text Size
Green Lane, Dronfield, Derbyshire S18 2FZ | Tel: 01246 412372 | Fax: 01246 412885 | email: admin@dronfield.derbyshire.sch.uk
Parents Essential Information School Times / Term Dates


This page contains the following information;



School TimesSchool Times

Below is a breakdown of our school day; start and end times, registration, lesson periods, lunch time and breaks.

"I have noticed that the people who are late are often so much jollier than the people who have to wait for them " - E. V. Lucas

8:50am Warning Bell Duty teams active
Students and Staff go to registration
9am - 9:15am Mentor Time Students arriving late report to reception
9:15am - 10:15am Period 1  
10:15am - 10:30am Break Duty teams active
10:30am - 11:30am Period 2  
11:30am - 12:30pm Period 3  
12:30pm - 1:30pm Lunch Lunchtime Supervisors active
1:30pm - 2:30pm Period 4 (includes afternoon registration)
2:30pm - 3:30pm Period 5  
3:30pm - 3:40pm   Duty teams active


Assemblies will take place from 9:00am to 9:15am.

On assembly days, Houses/year groups should go straight to the Hall to be ready to start assembly at 9:00am, rather than going to mentor rooms.

(Back to top of page)


Leave of Absence for Students

There is no automatic right for students to be granted authorised absences. We consider every request for leave of absence in relation to the context of the request, the individual student's attendance and educational attainment.

Only the school can approve absence, not parents. Parents and carers need to be aware that absences from school can have a detrimental effect on student's progress and achievement in examinations.

To apply for a student leave of absence, please complete the "Leave of Absence Form for Students" that can be downloaded from the policies page, and return to reception at least two weeks before the date of the proposed absence.

(Back to top of page)


Term Dates - 2013/2014 Academic YearTerm Times

Autumn

  • Term 1: Thursday 5th September 2013 to Friday 25th October 2013
  • Term 2: Monday 4th November 2013 to Friday 20th December 2013


Spring

  • Term 3: Monday 6th January 2014 to Friday 14th February 2014
  • Term 4: Monday 24th February 2014 to Friday 11th April 2014


Summer

  • Term 5: Monday 28th April 2014 to Friday 23rd May 2014
  • Term 6: Monday 2nd June 2014 to Wednesday 23rd July 2014


Public Holidays

  • 25th and 26th December 2013
  • 1st January 2014
  • 18th April 2014
  • 21st April 2014
  • 5th May 2014
  • 26th May 2014
  • 25th August 2014


CPD Days

  • Wednesday 4th September 2013
  • Thursday 10th October 2013
  • Tuesday 10th December 2013
  • Monday 6th January 2014
  • Friday 4th July 2014 (Disaggregated Day)

(Back to top of page)


Term Dates - 2014/2015 Academic Year

The following dates for 2014/15 are provisional and will be confirmed during the academic year 2013/14.

Autumn

  • Term 1: Monday 8th September 2014 to Friday 24th October 2014 
  • Term 2: Monday 3rd November 2014 to Friday 19th December 2014


Spring 
 

  • Term 3: Monday 5th January 2015 to Friday 6th February 2015
  • Term 4: Monday 16th February 2015 to Friday 27th March 2015


Summer

  • Term 5: Monday 13th April 2015 to Friday 22nd May 2015
  • Term 6: Monday 1st June 2015 to Friday 24th July 2015


Public Holidays

  • 25th and 26th December 2014
  • 1st January 2015
  • 3rd April 2015
  • 6th April 2015
  • 4th May 2015
  • 25th May 2015
  • 31st August 2015


CPD Days

  • Friday 5th September 2014

(Back to top of page)



Last Updated on Thursday, 29 May 2014 10:18 Written by C. Burgin

Help: Don't understand school abbreviations? See Glossary and Abbreviations.